2009 Awards

Faculty Awards
Simon Cherry received the 2009 Distinguished Scientist Award from the Western Regional Society of Nuclear Medicine. Jinyi Qi2009 IEEE NPSS Early Achievement Award

2009 Best paper award, The 10th International Meeting on Fully Three-Dimensional Image Reconstruction in Radiology and Nuclear Medicine, Beijing, China.

Tingrui Pan2009 Xerox Foundation Award “Lab-on-a-Print: Solid-Ink Printing for Three-Dimensional Desktop Microfabrication”

2009 NSF CAREER Award “Lab-on-a-Chip Systems of Photopatternable Multi-functional Nanocomposite Materials for Cell Detection and Manipulation”

Alex Revzin received an NSF EFRI-BSBA Award for his project: “Novel Micro-systems for Manipulation and Analysis of Immune Cells.” Tingrui Pan will also contribute to this project.
Volkmar Heinrich received a GREAT Training Grant (08-10) Yohei Yokobayashi received an Academic Sentate/New Initiative/Collaborative Inter-disciplinary Grant Award for 2009-2010.
Graduate Student Awards
Emily Pfeiffer and Melissa Freedenberg received 2009 NSF Graduate Research FellowshipsHillary Davis: NASA predoctoral fellowship

Erin Case: Goldwater Scholarship (3/09)

Erica Andreozzi: graduate summer research award

Jennifer Phipps won 4 awards:

First Place Oral Presentation at the 10th Annual UC-Wide Bioengineering Symposium, 2009

Best poster: ECI- Advances in Optics for Biotechnology, Medicine, and Surgery XI:Clinical Challenges and Research Solutions, Burlington, VT, July 2009

Graduate Student Travel Award Biomedical Engineering Society Annual Conference, Pittsburgh, PA 2009

Above and Beyond” graduate student award for outreach and mentoring with undergraduate students and high school teachers by the NSF Center for Biophotonics Science and Technology, Summer 2009

Julia Choi won first place for her talk, “PET imaging of activated matriptase, a marker for cancer progression”, in the Radio-pharmaceutical Sciences Council Young Investigator Award Symposium at the meeting of the Society of Nuclear Medicine.Sunny Shah: NIH Training Program Fellowship in Biomolecular Technology, University of California, Davis, October 2008 – October 2010.

Thuc-Nghi Nguyen: UC Davis Designated Emphasis in Biotechnology Fellowship 2009-10

Siwei Zhao: 2009 UC Bioengineering Symposium “Best Presentation Award”

Siwei Zhao, Lingfei Hong, John Yan:  2009 First International Contest of Applications in Nano-MicroTechnologies- First Place in Americas

Sara St. James: 2009 first place poster at the IEEE Medical Imaging Conference