aaas logo

Laura Marcu Elected as AAAS Fellow

Laura Marcu, professor in the biomedical engineering department, is among the eleven UC Davis professors elected to the 2020 class of fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, or AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific society.

The association elevates members to the rank of fellow in recognition of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. AAAS Fellows are elected each year by their peers serving on the Council of AAAS, the organization’s member-run governing body. The title recognizes important contributions to STEM disciplines, including pioneering research, leadership within a given field, teaching and mentoring, fostering collaborations, and advancing public understanding of science.

Marcu was elected for her research and development of optical instrumentation and techniques for tissue spectroscopy and imaging, with applications in management of critical human disease and regenerative medicine.

See the links below for more information on the 2020 fellows.

AAAS Announces Leading Scientists Elected as 2020 Fellows
11 UC Davis Professors Elected as AAAS Fellows

Primary Category