Audience listening to the 2019 Maroney-Bryan lecturer

Maroney-Bryan Lecture

Maroney-Bryan Lecture in Biomedical Engineering & Innovation

From 2010 to today, the Biomedical Engineering Department at UC Davis has invited standout innovators to share their entrepreneurial journey at the annual Maroney-Bryan Distinguished Lecture. This seminal series highlights how researchers in biomedical engineering, medicine, and biotechnology have created solutions of a different caliber and translated them to industry to bring a sustainable, healthier and more resilient world within reach.

2022 Lecture Details

Josh Makower, MD presents 
"Health Technology Innovation: From Phenomenon to Proven Process"

Thursday, Nov. 10
4-5 p.m.

Cocktail reception to follow

Josh Makower, MD is the Boston Scientific Applied Bioengineering Professor of Medicine and of Bioengineering at the Stanford University Schools of Medicine and Engineering, and is the Director and Co-Founder of the Stanford Byers Center for Biodesign, and Founder of Stanford’s Biodesign Policy Program.  Josh also serves as a Special Partner on New Enterprise Associate's healthcare team supporting their medtech/healthtech practice.  Lastly, Josh is the Founder and Executive Chairman of ExploraMed, a medical device incubator that has created 10 companies over the past 20 years.

Previous Speakers

  • 2010  Thomas Fogarty, Professor, Cardiothoracic Surgery (Stanford University)
  • 2011  Leroy Hood, President and co-founder, Institute for Systems Biology
  • 2012  Rebecca Richards-Kortum, Professor, Bioengineering (Rice University); Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering (Rice University); Founder, Beyond Traditional Borders; Director, Rice 360°: Institute for Global Health Technology
  • 2013  Paul Yock, Professor of Medicine and Director of Biodesign, Stanford University; Founding Co-Chair of Stanford University Department of Bioengineering
  • 2014  Bruce Rosen, Professor, Radiology (Harvard Medical School); Professor, Health Science and Technology (Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology; Director, Athinoula A. Martinos Center for Biomedical Imaging (Massachusetts General Hospital)
  • 2015  Joseph DeSimone, Chancellor’s Eminent Professor, Chemistry (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill); Distinguished Professor, Chemical Engineering (North Carolina State University); Professor, Chemistry (UNC); CEO Carbon3D
  • 2016  Fred Dinger, CEO, Aerin Medical
  • 2017  John Gore, Hertha Ramsey Cress Chair in Medicine, Vanderbilt University; Professor, Radiology and Radiological Sciences, Biomedical Engineering, Physics and Astronomy, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics (Vanderbilt University); Director, Vanderbilt University Institute of Imaging Science
  • 2018  Stanton Rowe, Chief Scientific Officer and Corporate Vice President of Advanced Technology, Edwards Lifesciences; UC Davis BME External Advisory Board Member
  • 2019  Jennifer Elisseeff, Morton Goldberg Professor, Biomedical Engineering (Johns Hopkins); Director, Translational Tissue Engineering Center (Johns Hopkins)
  • 2020 Pamela Munster, Professor, Department of Medicine (Hematology/Oncology), UCSF; Director, Early Phase Clinical Trials Unit, Co-Leader of the Center for BRCA Research, and Co-Leader Molecular Oncology Program, UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • 2021 Hedvig Hricak, Chair, Department of Radiology, Carroll and Milton Petrie Chair, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

The Maroney-Bryan Lecture is one of many examples of excellence emanating from the current Department of Biomedical Engineering. Additionally…

  • Ranked 21 and 28 in US News and World Report for our graduate and undergraduate programs, respectively.
  • Hands-on learning as a core value: At UC Davis we emphasize translation through our close relationships with clinicians, both at the UC Davis Medical Center and at the School of Veterinary Medicine
  • We now serve over 400 students
  • 75+ percent of our students participate in undergraduate research on campus, with many going on to graduate or professional school. 
  • 50+ percent of our undergraduate students participate in off-campus internships at academic institutions, medical clinics, industry or national labs.
  • Award-winning faculty: 14 American Institute for Medical And Biological Engineering fellows; 8 Biomedical Engineering Society Fellows: and in 2022, Simon Cherry was awarded the Benedict Cassen Prize from the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging.